Award Winners 2024

John Irons, Danmark
Philipp Kochheim, Tyskland
Sisko Ylimartimo, Finland

Hans Christian Andersen Award Committee

Since 1996 the Hans Christian Andersen Award Committee has presented its Honarary Award to 80 different organizations and individuals from 19 different countries. These range from Brazil to China and, of course, Denmark is also among them. The Award is presented in recognition of outstanding achievements in working with Hans Christian Andersen and of contributions to promoting and spreading further knowledge of the Danish national poet in many parts of the world. This work is expressed in the publication of new

translations and publications, in many forms of artistic creativity, in philantrophical or educational activities. It has been our undivided pleasure to appreciate those many activities with a award and to celebrate them with an annual ceremony on the poet’s birthday in his native town of Odense. Odense itself has been richly awarded by the many ties link­ing us cordially to men and women from all over the world; many of them return to Odense each year when the 2nd of April approaches.

The Award Ceremony


© Copyright - Hans Christian Andersen Priskomite